Sir Keir Starmer will take over the role of Prime Minister from Rishi Sunak after the Labour Party won this week's general election.

Labour won a 403 majority with the Conservatives only winning 110 seats bringing to an end 14 years of Tory governments, so far.

Celebrating the Labour Party’s win, Sir Keir said: “The change begins right here. Because this is your democracy, your community and your future. You have voted. It is now time for us to deliver.”

What happens at the start of a new parliament?

So what happens now? Well, Sir Keir and the Labour Party have a busy few days ahead of them.

The Labour leader will be officially appointed Prime Minister by King Charles III and then make his way to Downing Street.

The Institute for Government said: "After a prime minister is appointed by the monarch they often return to make a speech outside the front door of No.10 Downing Street.

"Once they enter through that famous door, the real business of government begins."

When will Sir Keir Starmer announce his cabinet?

Sir Keir Starmer is expected to announce his cabinet this weekend (July 6 and 7), according to the Institute of Government. 

Appointing cabinet ministers will be among one of the first things Sir Keir Starmer will do when he gets into Downing Street after being made Prime Minister.

Sir Keir's first few tasks as Prime Minster, according to the Institute of Government, will be:

  • Visit to Buckingham Palace where he will be appointed Prime Minister by King Charles III
  • Return to No.10 Downing Street where he will make his first speech as Prime Minister before entering
  • Carry out first-day briefings
  • Nuclear deterrent - a new Prime Minister will write letters to the commanders of the four nuclear submarines outlining what to do in the event of a nuclear strike that wipes out contact with the UK

It will be following these tasks, that Sir Keir will form his government and appoint cabinet members.

The Institute of Government explains: "The PM will appoint their cabinet ministers, typically meeting them each individually in No.10. 

"Any major immediate machinery of government changes will be announced as cabinet ministers are told their responsibilities.

"Key decisions on cabinet committees will be made at this point – including their terms of reference, chairs and membership.

"Newly appointed ministers will meet with the head of the propriety and ethics team to discuss potential conflicts of interest or any other issues."

Further cabinet appointments may be made throughout the second day after Sir Keir is appointed Prime Minister. 

Junior ministers will also be appointed on days two and three.

Other day-one tasks for Sir Keir will include phone calls to other world leaders, national security briefings and sorting out living and working arrangements.

Who will feature in Sir Keir Starmer's first cabinet as Prime Minister?

It is not yet known who will feature in Sir Keir's cabinet.


But the Labour Party's shadow cabinet under Sir Keir's leadership, prior to the general election, featured the following:

  • Angela Rayner (Deputy Leader, Shadow Deputy Prime Minister and Shadow Secretary of State for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities)
  • Rachel Reeves (Shadow Chancellor of the Exchequer)
  • Bridget Phillipson (Shadow Secretary of State for Education)
  • Yvette Cooper (Shadow Secretary of State for the Home Department)
  • Wes Streeting (Shadow Secretary of State for Health and Social Care)
  • Ed Miliband (Shadow Secretary of State for Energy Security and Net Zero)
  • David Lammy (Shadow Secretary of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs)
  • Pat McFadden (Shadow Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster and National Campaign Coordinator)
  • Nick Thomas-Symonds (Shadow Minister without Portfolio (Cabinet Office))
  • Jonathan Ashworth (Shadow Paymaster General (Cabinet Office))
  • Shabana Mahmood (Shadow Secretary of State for Justice)
  • Jonathan Reynolds (Shadow Secretary of State for Business and Trade)
  • Liz Kendall (Shadow Secretary of State for Work and Pensions)
  • John Healey (Shadow Secretary of State for Defence)
  • Louise Haigh (Shadow Secretary of State for Transport)
  • Thangam Debbonaire (Shadow Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport)
  • Anneliese Dodds (Party Chair, Chair of Labour Policy Review and Shadow Secretary of State for Women and Equalities)
  • Steve Reed (Shadow Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs)
  • Peter Kyle (Shadow Secretary of State for Science, Innovation and Technology)
  • Hilary Benn (Shadow Secretary of State for Northern Ireland)
  • Ian Murray (Shadow Secretary of State for Scotland)
  • Jo Stevens (Shadow Secretary of State for Wales)
  • Emily Thornberry (Shadow Attorney General)
  • Lisa Nandy (Shadow Cabinet Minister for International Development)
  • Darren Jones (Shadow Chief Secretary to the Treasury)
  • Ellie Reeves (Deputy National Campaign Coordinator)
  • Lucy Powell (Shadow Leader of the House of Commons)
  • Alan Campbell (Opposition Chief Whip in the House of Commons)
  • Baroness (Angela) Smith (Shadow Leader of the House of Lords)
  • Lord (Roy) Kennedy (Opposition Chief Whip in the House of Lords)

This article will be updated once Sir Keir has announced his cabinet.