The Lost Houses of Twickenham, Whitton, Teddington and The Hamptons is the subject of the new exhibition at The Twickenham Museum, which opens at 12 noon on Saturday 8.

Exhibitions Director, John Sheaf, explains: "Virtually everything on the ground floor will change except for the Professor Cockles tableau, which remains a firm favourite with visitors. Eleven new main display frames will be packed with evocative images of the past in the form of old photographs, prints and illustrations."

Two display cases will boast a variety of rare items on the general theme; including two amateur watercolours dated 1858 of Heatham House and Brook House, both in London Road, Twickenham.

Other items include a menu for Lady Clifton Robinson's garden party held at Garrick's Villa, Hampton, in 1906 and three items relating to The Pheasant House, which once stood in Bushy Park.

On the first floor - and supplementary to Lost Houses - will be two new panels featuring The Manor House Estate, Hampton and Teddington Hall, Hampton Road, Teddington. Carlisle Park is all that remains of the Manor House Estate. Teddington Hall still stands, although substantially remodelled internally.

The Twickenham Museum is situated at 25 The Embankment and is open from 11am to 3pm on Tuesdays and Saturdays and from 2pm to 4pm on Sundays. Admission is free.