Joe Crabtree has been elected as the Youth Member for Parliament for Richmond upon Thames.

Joe stood on a platform of giving young people a greater say in key issues around schools, youth services and the NHS. He previously served two years on the Youth Council.

Over 4,400 young people cast their votes in the election held over the last month.

As the local representative at the UK Youth Parliament Joe will take part in workshops, debate, create and change national manifesto policy and network.

During the year he will join other representatives for an annual sitting in the House of Commons chaired by John Bercow MP, Speaker of the House of Commons.

Speaking at the announcement of the election results, Leader of Richmond Council Cllr Gareth Roberts said: “It is incredibly important that young people take part in local politics as they will be the politicians of the future. This is a great grounding for them and I look forward to seeing them go on to do great things.

“The thing about politics is you get the opportunity to change things in people’s lives and to do something that improves lives in your community and that’s why we all go into this.

“Those of who were elected today – well done and for those less fortunate there’s always next time. That’s the great thing about politics there’s always a next time.”

Six candidates stood in the Youth Parliament and Youth Council elections looking to represent the voices of the 15,000 young people living in Richmond upon Thames.

The following Youth Council representatives for Richmond upon Thames were also elected:

West Cluster

Christopher Austin

Lydia Roebuck

Gadea de Torres

Josie O’Connell

Alexander Ringsmith

Zoe Maida

Isabella Trapnell-Hoyle

North East Cluster

Adya Manoj

Holly Scholfield

Mehvish Khan

Tess Bowyer

Emily Brightman