The Leader of the Liberal Democrat majority party at Richmond Council has announced his intended Cabinet today.

Following last week’s local election, Cllr Gareth Roberts will be formally announced as the Leader of the Council at a full Council meeting on May 22.

Cllr Roberts, said: “I have always said that we want to make Richmond upon Thames a borough we can all be proud of. And, with my colleagues we are committed to making Richmond the safest, greenest and fairest borough in the Capital.

“Together with my new colleagues, we will work with you – residents, businesses, voluntary organisations and community groups to create a safer and greener borough, one that is affordable for all, with the best local schools. We will be open and honest, engaging with the whole community to achieve our goals.”

These are the proposed cabinet members, who will also be confirmed on May 22:

Cllr Liz Jaeger, of Whitton Ward, will be appointed as the Deputy Leader of the Council.

In addition, she will be responsible for Housing and Community Safety.

She will be responsible for driving more affordable housing in the borough, working with registered housing providers. 

Cllr Alexander Ehmann, representing St Margarets and North Twickenham, will also be appointed as Deputy Leader.

In addition, he will be responsible for Transport, Streetscene and Air Quality. 

Cllr Piers Allen, who represents West Twickenham Ward, will be appointed as Cabinet Member for Adult Social Services and Health.

Cllr Geoff Acton, who represents St Margarets and North Twickenham Ward, will be appointed as Cabinet Member for Business, Economy and Employment (including property).

Cllr Martin Elengorn, who represents the Teddington ward, will be Cabinet Member for Environment, Planning and Sustainability.

He will lead on major environmental areas including the fight against expansion of Heathrow airport. 

The new Cabinet Member for Children’s Services and Schools will be Cllr Penny Frost, who represents Ham, Petersham and Richmond Riverside ward.

She will support the borough’s schools, looking to identify additional support for SEN provision.

She will work closely with Achieving for Children, to support vulnerable young people.

Cllr Robin Brown, who represents Hampton Wick, will take on the Finance and Performance portfolio. 

Cllr John Coombs, of Heathfield Ward, will take on the role for Cabinet Member for Arts, Culture and Sport. 

Cllr Michael Wilson of Heathfield ward, will be the new Cabinet Member for Equality, Communities and the Voluntary Sector. 

The Chairman of the Planning Committee will also be Cllr Jonathan Cardy, from Fullwell and Hampton Hill ward.

The Chairman of the Regulatory Committee will be Cllr Helen Lee-Parsons from West Twickenham ward.