Brentford extended their lead at the top of League One with their eighth league win in a row as they saw off Port Vale 2-0 at Griffin Park.

It was the strikers who got the job done as both Marcello Trotta and substitute Will Grigg grabbed a goal apiece for the Bees.

In a much changed line up due to injuries to Jonathan Douglas, Adam Forshaw and Harlee Dean, club captain Kevin O'Connor returned and put in an impressive performance at centre half, while Alan McCormack was man of the match in the central midfield role normally occupied by Douglas.

New loan signing Alan Judge also caught the eye on the left of midfield.

The visitors had an early chance when Gavin Tomlin broke down the left before firing wide of David Button's left hand post.

Clayton Donaldson headed the ball into the roof of the net from a cross on the left while Judge broke through the middle, only to see his shot from the edge of the box blocked.

Sam Saunders then sent a dipping free kick just over the bar.

The Bees went ahead after half an hour when McCormack and Donaldson combined to set up Trotta, whose shot from 25 yards sailed under Chris Neal into the back of the net.

From his central midfield position McCormack set up Shaleum Logan just before the break, but his low shot was held by Neal.

Ten minutes into the second half Neal parried a shot from Saunders.

Minutes later Donaldson rose to head home a Saunders cross from wide on the left, but he was adjudged to have fouled Neal and the goal was disallowed.

Port Vale were always in the game and put the Bees under pressure several times during the second half, but failed to find the back of the net.

Brentford re-gained the upper hand in the closing stages, with Jake Bidwell seeing a shot deflected an tipped over by Neal.

A barnstorming run down the left from Bidwell saw the full-back pick out Grigg, who had time to control the ball and pick his spot as he shot past Neal to seal yet anther victory for the home side.

Brentford: Button, Logan, O'Connor, Craig, Bidwell; Saunders (sub Grigg 72), McCormack, Judge (sub Reeves 67), Saville, Donaldson, Trotta.

Subs (not used): Lee, Fillo, Barron, Dallas, Diagouraga.