Whyteleafe’s promotion push for Ryman Division One South football continued apace with an eighth consecutive league win.

A 6-2 victory over sixth placed Cray Valley keeps the Leafe second in the Southern Counties East League, two points behind leaders Ashford United.

Leafe were the best side throughout at Church Road, and can now boast being the top scorers in the league, as well as having the meanest defence.

The visitors looked dangerous in the opening minutes and the hosts were grateful to Alex Penfold, who prevented an early deficit with a great saving tackle to deny Reece Grant.

Leafe soon took the upper hand, Ryan Fowler found Jensen Grant on the edge of the box but his shot was saved by Matt Bailey.

A minute later Roscoe DSane was unlucky when his deflected shot hit the post and bounced away to safety The first goal came in the 13th minute - Bentley Graham ran on to a long ball, took the ball round Bailey and slotted the ball home, beating Gary Cook’s desperate attempt to clear off the line.

DSane, Sam Clayton, Jason Thompson and Fowler all went close before DSane slotted the second past the Cray keeper moments before the break.

There was time for a third before half-time, after good work from Thompson and Clayton, via DSane.

Cray pulled one back directly after the restart, but Leafe soon restored their three-goal advantage thanks to Grant’s close range effort.

DSane, having set up grant, was again the provider when his cross was converted for the fifth goal by Louis Hollingsworth.

Leafe skipper Thompson got his name on the scoresheet after Taylor Smith was brought down in the box by Allan Matthews in stoppage time, and he hammered home the spot kick for Leafe’s sixth.

There was still time for Cray to get a late consolation when they were also awarded a penalty.

Leafe keeper Sheikh Ceesay saved Adam Gross’s spot kick, but Jamie Wood was first to react and netted the rebound.

Leafe go to Lordswood this weekend.

Whyteleafe: Ceesay, Merchant, Penfold, Hollingsworth, Smith, Thompson, Fowler, Grant (Williams 77), DSane (Smith {Taylor} 72), Clayton (Pitterson 77), Graham.

Subs not used: Burnett, Pratt.