Fulham striker Ross McCormack proved money can buy you a League Cup win as his 69th minute strike put the former Premier League side into the third round with a 1-0 win at Brentford.

The £11million 28-year-old, who saw one effort ruled out for offside earlier in the contest, fired home from close range to settle the west London derby.

And Bees defender Harlee Dean admitted that although they kept the Scotsman largely quiet, he proved the difference between the two teams.

"We did not do too bad against him," he said.

"Obviously, he scored. That is what they pay the money for.

"We had the better of the play, but we did not take enough care in the final third and test their keeper enough.

"It felt good defensively. As a back four we were solid and did well, but in front of us we needed to be a bit brighter and faster."

In an even first half there were chances for both teams, with Fulham enjoying long periods of possession but rarely troubling the Bees back four.

At the other end, the impressive Jota forced Fulham keeper Marcus Bettinelli in to a sharp save at his near post and moments later hit the same post with a low drive.

Boss Mark Warburton’s Bees started the second half in lively mood with Nick Proschwitz over running a Moses Odubajo cut back, before Bees keeper David Button saved smartly to his right from a Chris David effort.

Minutes later McCormack had the ball in the net when he raced on to a through ball to fire past Button, only for the linesman’s flag to rule it out.

And the same player was denied a tap in by a trailing Brentford leg after a Ryan Williams effort was blocked.

But the former Leeds United man eventually made it count moments later when he fired through Button's legs with 21 minutes remaining.

Cauley Woodrow could have doubled the advantage eight minutes later as his cross shot grazed the outside of the post, while Bees substitute Scott Hogan fired over from the edge of the box as Fulham finished strongly.

Brentford: (4-1-4-1) Button, Bidwell, Dean, Tarkowski, Odubajo, Toral (Diagouraga 63), Dallas, Tebar, Smith, Jota (Gray 73), Proschwitz (Hogan 73).